Skip to content Skip to navigation

Stanford Blockchain Conference 2019

SBC logo

January 30th - February 1st 2019, Arrillaga Alumni Center, Stanford University

This conference will explore the use of formal methods, empirical analysis, and risk modeling to better understand security and systemic risk in blockchain protocols. We aim to foster multidisciplinary collaboration among practitioners and researchers in blockchain protocols, distributed systems, cryptography, computer security, and risk management. The talks and papers from the previous event in this conference series (formerly known as BPASE) are available here: 20172018.

Conference Dates: January 30 - February 1, 2019

Venue:  McCaw Hall, Arrillaga Alumni Center (326 Galvez St), Stanford University. Map

Call for Papers: 

The Stanford Blockchain Conference, now in its third year, brings together researchers and practioners working on cryptographic consensus systems such as blockchains.  In these systems, designdecisions have implications for the security, economic viability, and business risks.  As blockchains continue to evolve, they must be analyzed as mission-critical systems with attendant security and risk concerns.  This conference will explore new directions in blockchain design, for both public and private blockchain protocols.

We are interested in academic papers or presentations investigating Blockchain protocol design including but not limited to the following topics:

- Protocol-level security and integrity, whether exploring the problem space or proposing solutions

- Development, formal verification & testing of libraries for cryptography, consensus, or verifiable data structures

- Application of formal methodologies, empirical analysis, or network mapping & simulation to blockchain engineering and design

- Novel attacks against and/or security modeling of consensus, SPV, layer 2, chain interoperability, decentralized exchange, or similar protocols

- Lessons learned from running blockchain systems in production

- Security considerations of interactions between blockchain and other technologies.

- Hardware integration - HSM, TEE, crypto card & related tooling research & development

- Theoretical or empirical examinations of economic, policy, and risk analysis

- Methodologies for teaching secure blockchain system design & implementation

- Cryptography and cryptographic protocols related to blockchains.

This topic list is not exhaustive.  We are interested in all aspects of blockchain security and reliability.  We encourage submissions of both mature projects and novel early-stage work-in-progress, as well as survey and systemization of knowledge papers.

Submission instructions: Submissions can be full papers, including previously published ones, or talk abstracts, possibly including sample presentation slides.  Talks need not be finalized prior to submission, but please make sure that the submission provides sufficient detail to explain what technical content the talk will include. All submissions must be written in English, and be in PDF format. The submissions are optionally anonymous. If you choose to submit anonymously please remove all author names or affiliations in the submission document and select the appropriate option when submitting. 

Submission site:

Important dates:
* Submissions close: October 16th, 2018
* Notifications: December 1st, 2018

* Conference:  Jan. 30 - Feb 1, 2019 (three days)

Program Chairs: 

Dan Boneh (Stanford)

Benedikt Bünz (Stanford)

General Chairs:

Allison Berke (Stanford)

Byron Gibson (Consultant)

Program Committee: 

Shashank Agrawal (Visa)

Joseph Bonneau (NYU)

Ethan Buchman (Tendermint)

Suhabe Bugrara (Consensys)

Philip Daian (Cornell University)

Angelo de Caro (IBM)

Tadge Dryja (MIT DCI)

Ben Fisch (Stanford)

Arthur Gervais (Imperial College London)

Alex Leishman (Polychain Capital)

Jonathan Levi (Hacera)

Zaki Manian (Cosmos, Trusted-IoT)

Mahnush Movahedi (Dfinity)

Andrew Poelstra (Blockstream)

Jeremy Rubin (Interstellar)

abhi shelat (Northeastern)

Yonatan Sompolinsky (DagLabs)

Peter Todd

Pieter Wuille (Blockstream)

Cathie Yun (Interstellar)