Skip to content Skip to navigation

Blockchain Protocol Analysis and Security Engineering 2017

The 2018 version of this conference can be found here.

January 26-27 2017, Paul Brest Hall, Stanford University

Video recordings and slides, where provided by presenters, are posted with talk titles below.

The conference will explore the use of formal methods, empirical analysis, and risk modeling to better understand security and systemic risk in blockchain protocols.  The conference aims to foster multidisciplinary collaboration among practitioners and researchers in blockchain protocols, distributed systems, cryptography, computer security, and risk management.

Conference Dates: January 26-27, 2017

Venue:  Paul Brest Hall (555 Salvatierra Walk), Stanford University. Map

Schedule:

  January 26 January 27
8:45 am Breakfast (starting at ~8:15am) & Welcome: introremarks.pdf Breakfast (starting at ~8:15am) & Welcome
  Decentralized Systems Security & Risk Consensus Protocol Security Analysis
9:00-9:30am Decentralization vs Incoordination - Tadge Dryja (MIT DCI) Watch here. Slides: tadgedryja.pdf Future-Proofing IPFS, Blockchains, and other Secure Systems - Juan Benet (IPFS) Watch here. Slides: juanbenet.pdf
9:30-10:00am How Formal Analysis and Verification Add Security to Blockchain-Based Systems - Shinichiro Matsuo (MIT) Watch here. Slides: shinichiromatsuo.pdf On the Design and Accountability of Byzantine Fault-Tolerant Protocols - Ethan Buchman (Tendermint) Watch here. Slides: ethanbuchman.pdf
10:00-10:30am Open Source Operational Risk: Should Public Blockchains Serve as Financial Market Infrastructures? - Angela Walch (St. Mary's) Watch here. Paper available here. Slides: angelawalch.pptx Combining Proofs of Space and Proofs of Time - Bram Cohen (Bittorrent, Inc) Watch here. Slides: bramcohen.pdf
10:30-10:45am Break Break
  Use of Simulation In Protocol & Security Research Consensus Protocol Security Analysis
10:45-11:15am Miniature World: Measuring and Replicating Real World Blockchain Deployments - Efe Gencer (Cornell) Watch here. Slides: efegencer.pdf

Blockchain Consensus Algorithms: Common Abstractions and New Development Avenues - Peter Czaban (Ethcore) Watch here. Slides: peterczaban.pdf

11:15-11:45am On the Security and Scalability of Proof of Work Blockchains - Arthur Gervais et al. (ETH Zurich and NEC Laboratories) Watch here. Paper available here. Permissioning Your Blockchain: How to Overlay Hyperledger Fabric with a Fully Workable System Tapestry - Jonathan Levi (HACERA) and  David W. Kravitz (DarkMatter) Watch here. Slides: davidkravitz.pdf
11:45am-12:15pm On the Instability of Bitcoin Without the Block Reward - Arvind Narayanan (Princeton) Watch here. Paper available here. Zerocash, Bitcoin, and Transparent Computational Integrity - Eli Ben-Sasson (Technion) Watch here. Slides: elibensasson.pdf
12:15-1:00pm Lunch Lunch
  Hardware Integration Security

Consensus Protocol Security Analysis

1:00-1:30pm Interactions between Secure Hardware and Blockchain Technologies - Nicolas Bacca, Thomas France (Ledger) Watch here. Slides: nicolasbacca.pptx Threshold Relay: How to Achieve Near-Instant Finality in Public Blockchains using a VRF - Timo Hanke & Dominic Williams (Dfinity) Watch here.
  Improving the Security and Capabilities of Scripting Systems Consensus Protocol Security Analysis
1:30-2:00pm Michelson: a Statically Typed Stack Based Language for Smart-Contract Execution - Benjamin Canou (Tezos) Watch here. Hyperledger Fabric as a Cryptographic Research Platform - Zaki Manian (SKUChain) Watch here. Slides: zakimanian.pdf
2:00-2:30pm Light Clients for Heavy Chains - Robert Habermeier (Ethcore) Watch here. Permissioned Blockchains and Pervasive Determinism: ScalableBFT: A High-Performance Deterministic Blockchain - William Martino (Kadena) Watch here.
2:30-2:45pm Break Break
2:45-3:15pm

Privacy-Preserving Smart Contracts - Ranjit Kumaresan (Microsoft Research) Watch here. Slides: ranjitkumaresan.pdf

From Dollars to Quorum Slices: Internet-level consensus on Stellar - David Mazieres (Stanford) Watch here.

3:15-3:45pm Ethereum Isn't Turing Complete and It Doesn't Matter Anyway! Zero-collateral Lotteries in Bitcoin and Ethereum - Andrew Miller (UIUC, IC3) Watch here. Security Analysis of the Lightning Network - Olaoluwa Osuntokun (Lightning Labs) Watch here. Slides: olaoluwaosuntokun.pdf
3:45-4:15pm

Post's Theorem and Blockchain Languages: A Short Course in the Theory of Computation - Russell O’Connor (Blockstream) Watch here. Slides: russelloconnor.pdf

Mimblewimble: Private, Massively-Prunable Public Blockchains - Andrew Poelstra (Blockstream) Watch here. Slides: andrewpoelstra.pdf

4:15-4:30pm Break Break
  Improving the Security and Capabilities of Scripting Systems Consensus Protocol Security Analysis
4:30-5:00pm Permissioned Blockchains and Pervasive Determinism: Pact: A Turing-Incomplete Single-Assignment LISP for Smart Contracts - Stuart Popejoy (Kadena) Watch here. Rethinking Large-scale Consensus - Elaine Shi (Cornell) Watch here.
5:00-5:30pm Ivy: A Declarative Predicate Language for Smart Contracts - Dan Robinson (Chain) Watch here. Slides: danrobinson.pdf Scalable "Smart Contracts" via Proofs and Single-Use-Seals - Peter Todd (Bitcoin) Watch here. Slides: petertodd.pdf
5:30-6:00pm Contracts with Merkelized Covenants - Jeremy Rubin Watch here. Slides: jeremyrubin.pdf Security Considerations of the Casper Protocol - Vlad Zamfir (Ethereum) Watch here.

 

Program Committee:

Allison Berke (Stanford)

Dan Boneh (Stanford)

Joseph Bonneau (Stanford, EFF)

Byron Gibson (Consultant)

Elaine Shi (Cornell, IC3)

Emin Gün Sirer (Cornell, IC3)

Peter Todd (Bitcoin Core)